Don’t Be Wasteful

In these days of pitch counts and innings limits, why in the world would you waste a pitch with an 0-2 count? Why give the hitter something for free? Most likely, your “waste” pitch will be so far out of the strike zone that nobody will even consider swinging at it.

Throw the ball 2-3 inches off the black and put the hitter away. Make them chase the ball and hit it anywhere on the bat other than the barrel. If you show the umpire you can consistently hit the catcher’s mitt, you will get called strikes on that pitch just off the plate.

If you don’t believe me, perhaps Greg Maddux will convince you not to be wasteful? Hat tip to the Baseball Dudes Facebook page.

img_1425

Greg Maddux

Advertisements